Cook the Book: Peach Dutch Baby

Chapter: Griddling – Recipe: Baked German Pancake (or Dutch Babies)

So many things colliding in this Breakfast Book post 1. I’ve always wanted to try cooking a Dutch Baby 2. I’m in Europe for this post 3. I lived in Germany, so fancy that, they are called German Pancakes in Marion’s book (and Dutch Babies if you make them in smaller pans).

Now I can’t say that these are actually like the pancakes they make in Germany. The one morning my host family made pancakes for breakfast, they were much more akin to the crepe style than anything else. Flat discs that we filled with jams, Nutella or just butter and sugar. I can’t say exactly where the name comes from, but these Americanized puffed versions are especially easy, and very impressive given the small amount of work.

I followed Bon Appétit’s suggestion of adding peaches (see their recipe here), and even though I used the recipe from the Breakfast Book and it worked out just fine. It yields spongy light pancake that can be dressed up in many ways, and though my pictures don’t show it, the pancake is just perfectly  sweet with a sprinkling of powdered sugar atop.

Well over and out from Paris – I will not be attempting German Pancakes here in the apartment, seeing as that I’ve been having croissants every morning instead, but I have on indulged in a Parisian Crepe!

As this is part of the cook the book series, please check out the other griddled recipes with RachelAimeeNatashaSammy and Claudie.

Peach German Pancake (Dutch Baby)

  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1-2 peaches
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • Confectioners’ sugar

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Break the eggs into a mixing bowl and bat until thoroughly mixed. Add the milk and blend well.

Sift the flour and salt onto a square of waxed, or parchment paper. Lift the waxed paper up by two corners and let the flour slowly drift into the egg and milk, whisking steadily. Or slowly sift the flour and salt directly into the egg mixture, while whisking to blend and smooth. Add the melted butter and mix briskly so the batter is smooth.

In a 12 inch cast iron skillet, or other skilled with oven proof handle, melt 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp sugar. Cut the peach(es) into 1/4 inch thick wedges. When the sugar starts to caramelize, add the peaches and cook a couple of minutes until soft. Quickly rewhisk the batter and pour over peaches. Bake immediately for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 and cook an additional 10 minutes til golden brown and  puffy.

Sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar and enjoy. It will deflate as soon as you take it out of the oven.

Comments
7 Responses to “Cook the Book: Peach Dutch Baby”
  1. Bille Jean says:

    Great to hear from you this evening! Looks delicious! Dad and Laura had a great time fishing and camping:) xoxo mom

  2. Aimee G says:

    I love that you did a post from Paris! And these look absolutely magnifique!

  3. Claudie says:

    Looking amazing! I made the regular version, but now I’m really craving to try yours (and guess what – I actually have some peaches at home!).

  4. sasaspazz says:

    Again starting my comment with “ok”…. Dutch babies – seriously? I know I am not the first person you thing of when it comes to cooking, but growing up i was quite the master in our house of the Sunday morning “Seattle Dutch babies”, being of Dutch descendency and all… I haven’t make them since I was 12, but I think we should totally have a Dutch brunch party! BTW, the Dutch drink French champagne at Dutch brunch parties!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Cook the Book: Peach Dutch Baby The Bon Appetit Diaries Tue, September 18, 2012 5:16 PM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this Loading … Share (function(){var […]



Leave a comment