Gilded Oyster Shell Salt Cellars

Oh heeeey… Look! A blog post!

I know you’re excited. I’m excited too. Mostly because these oyster shell salt and pepper cellars are so dang cute – right?!

I saw them on Design Sponge forever ago, stored the idea away in the quite large part of my mind where I keep these sorts of things, and then I finally made them! I was with some girlfriends several Bachelor seasons ago, and was finally motivated to take some from the $1 oyster night we partook in. Then again, I rescued more shells from Tomales Bay after yet another day of indulgence, and voila: Gilded Oyster Shell Salt Cellars. The trip to Tomales Bay was part of a bachelorette weekend (a real one, not the show) so a set of these made a very convenient and oh so special present for the bride.

I’m just so excited about how they turned out. Sometimes other people’s DIY just never look the same when you do it, but these are awesome! I will definitely be setting out mine when I host dinner club on Sunday.

IMG_5551

These are SO easy. All you need are:

Steps:

  1. Procure oysters shells – Yup, be that person who hordes them away at the dinner table. The one who spends time trying to tip them over on the table to make sure they are stable. I promise, you won’t see (most) of those people again, so it’s ok.
  2. Rinse and dry shells
  3. Paint inside with liquid gold leaf. Let dry.
  4. Spray with shellac. Let dry.
  5. Load with salt and pepper.
  6. Accept the complements when they come rolling in.

See, I told you it was easy. I do love a maximum result from a minimal effort.

IMG_5556

Comments
2 Responses to “Gilded Oyster Shell Salt Cellars”
  1. What a great way to hope back into your blog! Gorgeous shots, beautifully done, fantastic use of oyster shells:)

  2. isabella says:

    This is a great idea! =)
    Love,
    Isabella

Leave a Reply

