5 Ingredients. 5 Meals. Only 1 Chicken

Every now and then I get really focused on saving money and actually hitting my budget. Every time I assess where my city living gets most spendy, I realize how much it costs to eats out. A lot of times it’s due to those 1 or 2 glasses of wine that add up fast, but in general I eat less, healthier and cheaper when I eat at home. I find that the best way to work through this is to actually go to the grocery store and have food in my fridge – shocking, I know. This means instead of needing to get a quick something out, I at least have the option to just have toast and a bowl of cereal for dinner (yes, that’s what I had last night). Sticking to my budget means also bringing breakfast and lunch to work, which with all these groceries I’ve now purchased and a little preparation, is not too difficult a task. It also means I can be eating well AND saving money – score.

The past couple of weeks I’ve impressed even myself with my efforts, and it all began with 1 chicken. I’ve long loved my crock pot, and I finally put it to use for something other than chili and pulled pork. Put a chicken in, pour over some salsa and at the end of the day you have tender shredded chicken, perfect for a multitude of uses. I ended up making some very easy meals that kept me fed for dinners and lunches – absolutely fantastic. Even more proof that just a little bit of effort and a few ingredients can go a long way!

photo-215 ingredients:

  • Whole chicken
  • Large jar of salsa verde
  • 1 can of tomatoes
  • 1 package of tortillas
  • cheese

Optionals:

5 meals:

  • 2 servings of 2 tacos
  • 2 servings of 2 enchiladas
  • 1 breakfast tostada

Preparation:

  • Rinse the chicken and place in the crock pot, cover with 1/2-2/3 of the jar of salsa and the can of tomatoes
  • Set on low and let it cook all day, remove from crock pot and when cool enough to handle, pull meal off the bones and shred it
  • Mix shredded meat with some of remaining crock pot juices.
  • For tacos: serve in warm tortillas with pickled corn
  • For enchiladas: roll meat, cheese (and pickled corn, if using) in tortillas, cover with some salsa and cheese, bake at 350 for about 20 min until bubbly and golden
  • For tostada: it’s just an open face taco, add salsa, an egg, greens or whatever else you have on hand.
Comments
One Response to “5 Ingredients. 5 Meals. Only 1 Chicken”
  1. Billie says:

    Looks wonderful! Good job darling daughter.

Leave a Reply

