Cook the Book: Shirred Eggs

Chapter: Eggs – Recipe: Shirred Eggs

I’m sad to be back from vacation. When I go away there is no ‘I’m ready to come home moment’ no thought upon return other than it feels good to be off a plane and sleeping in a comfortable bed. It’s especially easy to think I can travel forever when I am staying in apartments, with friends, and basically just living somewhere else. Nonetheless, I had to come back… my name is on a lease and… well, that’s kind of it. I have to pay rent. Otherwise I would have stayed.

So now that I’m back, time to eat a little better and start cooking again, beginning with shirred eggs. When we were very first choosing recipes for this project, I immediately chose shirred eggs from this chapter because it seemed one of the healthier options in the whole book, and something that I could easily make on a weeknight for one – in the end I did end up making it for breakfast this past weekend.

before & after

A shirred egg is basically just a baked egg, more commonly with cream and butter, but I made mine simply with sautéed spinach, which was delicious. Served with a few toast soldiers and the yolks still runny, this was the perfect way to start my saturday. Marion does point out that these would fantastic for a breakfast party because there’s so little prep. I hope you have a chance to enjoy them, by yourself or with a crowd, some time soon!

The other ladies are cooking eggs too, so check out what they’re whipping up this week! RachelAimeeNatashaSammy and Claudie.

Shirred Eggs with Spinach

  • 1 garlic clove
  • handful of baby spinach
  • 1 or 2 eggs
  • ramekin
  • butter

Preheat oven to 325. Heat a bit of oil in a saute pan, heat garlic for a minute or two, add spinach until wilted. Butter the ramekin, place spinach on bottom and crack 1-2 eggs on top (depends on how many will fit/how many you want). Bake for ~12 min one egg ~20-24 min for two eggs, until eggs are set.

Comments
5 Responses to “Cook the Book: Shirred Eggs”
  1. Bilie says:

    I love everything about this dish, including the dishes:) I love the ramekin with the little handles.
    The eggs look delicious although, as you know, I would cook them a little longer. I love the look of the ground pepper on top and the spinach underneath! Nicely done Em. We could have these for Christmas breakfast!!

  2. Kelly says:

    I definitely crave eggs and toast some days so I will have to try this out! Any recommendations for “toy soldier toast?” They look like they might be buttered?

    • emily says:

      Yes, the toast soldiers are super easy! I just made buttered toast, then cut off the crusts and into strips. I would have prefered a rustic bread I could have cut into thick slices, but I just had normal sliced bread and it was just fine.

Leave a Reply

