Blueberry Tart

It took me a while to get on board with fruit. Particularly cooked fruit, pies, jams, etc. To this day, I prefer apples over most other fruits because of their crunch and texture. Stone fruits are probably at the bottom (though I do love a good peach) and all the other stuff floats around in the middle. When I was growing up and we’d get the ‘variety box’ of See’s candy, my sister and I started to have to cut the chocolates, rather than bite into them and discard the uneaten half if it was a fruit centered one. I’m also particular about jams and the quantity/texture of the chunks of fruit. I know. It’s weird. But it does comfort me that EVERYONE has food neuroses.

Anyhow, having the preferences that I do, I wasn’t sure what to expect when my friend presented this blueberry tart at a picnic a few years ago. I did try it and was absolutely blown away. Since then, it’s become one of my favorite deserts to make during blue berry season. It’s so fresh and easy, you’d be a fool to not give it a try.

The thing that I love about it is that only a quarter of the blue berries are cooked and other than the crust, it doesn’t go in the oven at all. The berries really shine through and maintain their texture, and the crust is nice and crispy which adds a lovely contrast in texture. The vibrant colors make it all the more appealing and the flavors definitely live up to what you see.

Blueberry Tart*

Crust:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Combine butter and sugar with a fork or pastry cutter until just blended. Add flour and salt. Cut together to form a crumbly dough. Press into bottom and up sides of a 9 or 10 inch fluted tart pan (preferable with a removable bottom). Bake at 375 for 12-15 min until lightly brown. [I used room temp butter, but I think it would be better if it was still slightly colder. Also, remember to try to make the bottom as level as possible so the berries lay evenly when you pour them in – I always forget!]

Filling:

  • 2 pints (4 cups) fresh blueberries
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Place 1 cup of the berries in a small sauce pan with the sugar, cornstarch, salt and water. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thick and clear. Remove from heat and stir in lemon juice and butter. Cool. Fold in remaining berries. Mound into cooled crust. Chill at least 1 hour. Can be served with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

* Sorry I don’t have the original source for this – I can’t take credit for coming up with this one, and apologize for only having an old school fax of the recipe.

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Blueberry Tart”
  1. Billie Jean says:

    It looks wonderful…You got that berry thing from your mother for sure:) So Sorry ;)

  2. Marin_Mama says:

    I’m so glad you posted this. I lost my recipe page and only had the picture from a different page. I love making this during blueberry season as it is the perfect texture with the cooked and fresh berries. I am quite sure this came from the Bon Appetit August 2003 page 87.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] On Trend: Macarons Blueberry Tart The Bon Appetit Diaries Sun, August 5, 2012 7:08 PM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this Loading … Share (function(){var […]



Leave a Reply

