My Return to Blogging with Herbed Lemon Dipping Sauce

You may have (I sure hope you have) noticed that I’ve been a little MIA from the blog over the past month. I promise, I have very good reason.

1) I was gone for most of May. I took a mini vacation every weekend, and had short little 4 day work weeks in between, which little time left to cook. It was delightful. I went here for fun with girl friends, Laguna Beach for a wedding and here for the first time over Memorial Day. After the first weekend away I was immensely refreshed and realized that while I am always saving for a big vacation, little ones can have just the same effect.

2) I needed/wanted/was compelled to get off Facebook! I don’t know how, but after so many years of social networking, it sort of just seeps into different aspects of your life. I wasn’t addicted, but was over using and was developing this sense that it was leading me into a false life. It leads to an altered sense of what other people are doing; fake ‘friendships’ with people whom I never really communicate with anymore; and promotes sharing your life rather than flat-out experiencing it. So that being said, I was ready to get out. Erase my visibility in this false world, and stay in touch and develop relationships with those people who I actually care about. You may be wondering, what does this have to do with your blog? Well, Facebook is one of the main traffic drivers, so I always felt bad about the thought of taking away from the blog, if I were to quit ‘the book’. BUT if I were to take a break from blogging at the same time, no harm done! There you have it – May was a month for me, no blogging, no cooking, no Facebook.

The result? Manicures that lasted for more than a week, 5 pounds lost, a regained sense of when I am truly hungry (and what I’m hungry for) and a huge Facebook sized weight lifted off my shoulders. Enjoying what I’m doing, in the moment, because it’s what I want to be doing, and not giving a hoot about what my Facebook community may be up to. The final thought it that there may be a time and place for Facebook, it does help stay in touch with friends and family who are far away, but I don’t have the intention of going back any time soon.

While I didn’t miss Facebook this past month, I did miss blogging! I missed the cooking, the flavors, the photography, the creativity. I didn’t miss washing the dishes, but what can you do… This past weekend I felt totally reinvigorated by the farmer’s market, seeing all the luscious summer produce. My timing back into my cooking life couldn’t have been better! Cherries, strawberries, peaches, corn, artichokes were all speaking to me with little ‘cook me’ voices, and my lust was renewed. I can’t wait to make the most of these harvests over the next few weeks and share them with the blog not the book.

One of the firsts things I made this weekend, in between the 5 loads of laundry and epic amounts of resting, was a potato salad that I made for this event last year. It was just as good as I remembered it and I had a bit of the creamy mixture left over. I make it with a mayo/yogurt base and lemon and fresh herbs so that it is jam packed with flavor. Not only does it make one kick-ass potato salad, but it would also be great with salmon or veggies, or as I used the leftovers: as artichoke dip. That’s right, I may have just turned into a mayo artichoke girl – yikes.

I feel like there are two different artichoke people: butter and mayonnaise. When I was growing up my mom was butter and my dad mayo. My mom always spiked her melted goodness with garlic and seasoning salt, which really packed a punch with the artichokes, so that’s what I did too. For years. Up until this weekend. The sauce I made was so fresh and so loaded with organic herbaceous flavors that it was a whole new experience for my artichokes. This way they are summery and light and zesty, rather than earthy and spicy as I was used to them. I’m sure I am not the first to invent this, but I am surprised it took me this long to figure out.

As for the rest of summer, and my life without Facebook? I think it’s going to be wonderful. I might have to paint my nails a little more often and gain a couple of pounds, but at least I’ll be back to doing what I love because it makes me (and not my Facebook persona) happy.

Herbed Lemon Dipping Sauce – to serve with artichokes, toss with potatoes or serve with a plethora of other preparations

  • 1 (or 2) part(s) mayonnaise
  • 1 part Greek yogurt
  • chopped fresh herbs to taste: flat leaf parsley, basil, dill – ratio 2:2:1
  • scallions
  • lemon zest

I could give you specifics (and if you link back to the original post you can get them), but you should really make this to your liking, adding more of what you love, putting in less of what you don’t. I know it will become one of your new favorites.

Comments
2 Responses to “My Return to Blogging with Herbed Lemon Dipping Sauce”
  1. Billie Jean says:

    Fantastic post Miss Em! A long and warm day of walking today, bussed up to the Mont and walked down to the art museums and then walked back…it was alonga ways!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Blogging with Herbed Lemon Dipping Sauce The Bon Appetit Diaries Tue, June 5, 2012 3:33 PM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this Loading … Share (function(){var […]



Leave a Reply

