Simple Supper: Endive & Apple Salad

There are some nights when I’m just not that hungry and don’t feel like making a big deal about dinner. It’s just me, It doesn’t always need to be fancy. A salad is perfect on these kind of nights, and the other evening I made a simple yet tasty salad that was worth a quick post. It proves you don’t need a ton of ingredients to make it good.

I received endive, lettuce and apples in my CSA box this week and whisked together a simple dressing with my home made mustard (yes, I’m still working my way through it!) and shallots (yes, I’m still working my way through those, too!). To be honest, endive doesn’t taste like a whole lot, but I love the middle ground texture of it mixed with the lettuce and apple, and the sweetness of the apple is great with the mild and slightly tart dressing. The salad would be great with some fish or chicken on top too, because let’s be honest, on most night just a salad just doesn’t do it.

The recipe below makes a lot of dressing, so be prepared for leftovers or adjust the ratios for how much you need.

Endive & Apple Salad (main dish for 1 or side salad for 2-4)

Toss the following ingredients in a bowl:

  • 2 small-ish endive heads, sliced about ½ inch thick
  • ½ apple, cored and thinly sliced
  • 6 or so leaves of red-leaf lettuce

Dressing:

  • ¼ cup champagne vinegar
  • 1 tsp Dijon or whole grain mustard
  • 1 tsp finely chopped shallot (about 1 small)
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • ½ cup salad oil of your preference (I used a combo of olive and canola)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Whisk together the first 4 ingredients and continue to whisk while slowly pouring in the oil. Toss the salad with a couple tablespoons of dressing to evenly coat and to taste.

Adapted from Bon Appetit, original recipe here

Comments
3 Responses to “Simple Supper: Endive & Apple Salad”
  1. Claudie says:

    I haven’t had endive and apple salad in such a long time!! Thanks for reminding me to make some, it’s definitely so delicious and yet simple. I usually make it during the summer in France as my father loves it too.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Simple Supper: Endive & Apple Salad The Bon Appetit Diaries Thu, March 8, 2012 12:24 AM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this Loading … Share (function(){var […]



Leave a Reply

