Recipe Repeat: Scrambled Eggs and Bacon

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to post this,  seeing as that it was SO good. I think I felt kind of awkward posting about breakfast again and I had a mildly busy week. But really, the breakfast I made last weekend is nothing to be shy about. I was inspired by this recipe on Gilt Taste where Ruth Reichl explains the technique to making fabulous scrambled eggs, namely being a sauce pot rather than a frying pan, low heat and lots and lots of butter. This was similar to the double boiler scrambled eggs I made last year, here, and they were so good last time I wanted to try them again using the true sauce pot technique. The result was SUPER creamy eggs, with the smallest curds that were almost like a sauce over my veggies and toast.

In addition to the luscious eggs, I sautéed some asparagus and mushrooms with onion and garlic in my new cast iron skillet. I can tell already I’m going to love that thing. The onions caramelized and salt and pepper was all seasoning the vegetables needed to be amazing. I put a touch of tarragon in the eggs, which is really mild and almost a sweet, it paired back really well to the onions and mushrooms. I also added some goat cheese to the eggs, right at the end, which helped balance out the sweet notes. I loaded it all up on toast (two pieces with the bottoms touching are why it looks round) and served it with a side of brown sugar bacon like I had made here, and it was perfect.

The following night, I had left over veggies and served up the same elements in a slightly different fashion – I spread the goat cheese on the toast and put a fried egg on top. Oh, how I LOVE a runny yolk. Just as amazing.

Scrambled Eggs and Bacon*

  • Whisk eggs with salt and a pinch of tarragon. Heat a sauce pot over low low heat and melt some butter. Add eggs and continuously stir, eventually it will thicken with the smallest of curds. Cook until done, adding goat cheese at the very end, mix in and leave clumps of cheese to your desire.
  • Heat oil in a cast iron skillet. Add finely chopped onions and salt, saute until translucent. Add garlic, cook for a minute. Add asparagus and mushrooms, cook for a few minutes to brown, then add salt and pepper to taste. Cook until vegetables are tender.
  • Toss 8 oz of bacon with 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp ancho chili powder, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. Line rimmed baking sheet with foil. It’s better if you cook on a cooling rack, or something for the grease to drip down, but in a pinch you can just cook on the foil. Lay out bacon and cook at 375 for 15-30 min until brown and crisp.

* click on the links above for more detailed recipes, but the gist of them is here.

Comments
3 Responses to “Recipe Repeat: Scrambled Eggs and Bacon”
  1. geet2go says:

    Mmm… this looks so good. Maybe I’ll try this with poached eggs for dinner tonight. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Repeat: Scrambled Eggs and Bacon The Bon Appetit Diaries Fri, February 10, 2012 7:09 PM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this Loading … Share (function(){var […]

  2. […] on hand to make use of all the blown out eggs. A frittata would be perfect or perhaps some soft scrambled eggs, but this strata is one of my […]



Leave a Reply

