Game Day: Elevated Pigs in a Blanket

Um, these are kind of amazing, no no, like really amazing. As much as I love gourmet food and making things from scratch, there are some oldies but goodie that are pretty fantastic as is – add a couple of extra ingredients and they just might blow you away. I’ve been in love with lil’ smokies in a blanket since I made them for a 70’s party several years ago (I went with a snack from the era) and since then I’ve made them for many a house party because they are so easy and such a crowd pleaser. The thing that makes these great for hosting is that you can tuck in the piggies ahead of time, keep them on baking sheet in the fridge and pull out when you are ready to bake. I also love how this particular recipe doesn’t need a dipping sauce, so they are clean and easy for game day viewing.

What makes these elevated is the home-made spicy mustard, apple and sharp cheddar. The apple, cheese, meat combo is a classic that I’ve applied here and here. I am a huge fan of how the lil’ smokies and crescent roll are slightly sweet and are balanced by the crisp apple and the sharpness of the cheddar and mustard. Also, if you are wondering why I went crescent roll over puff pastry for my special smokies – I just think they taste better. I like the bread texture, and I think they maintain texture and flavor better than puff when cooled. When rolled all together these little piggies are hot, melted  and I know everyone will love them.

{cut each crescent roll in half and spread with spicy mustard}

{layer on thinly sliced apple and cheese – don’t slice too thin because they need to hold their own against the sausage and the roll}

{add the lil’ smokie – it looks high, but it’s so worth it}

{wrap ’em up tight, bake with the apple on the bottom}

{bake on parchment paper at 375 for 12-15 min until golden and melted}

Comments
4 Responses to “Game Day: Elevated Pigs in a Blanket”
  1. Billie King says:

    Those are beautiful!

  2. Kelly says:

    ohhhh yum! this is one recipe I’ll be trying this week… inspired!

  3. Fae says:

    These look so yummy and easy! I may have to make these during the Rose Bowl game next week (Stanford vs. Wisconsin) when Pat’s family is in the Bay Area visiting!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Game Day: Elevated Pigs in a Blanket The Bon Appetit Diaries Thu, February 2, 2012 12:24 AM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this Loading … Share (function(){var […]



Leave a comment