My Favorite Butternut Squash Soup

You know how they say scent is the strongest sense related to memory? Well, I have very strong memories to many foods, as I know we all do, and I’m sure a huge part of that is scent related – most of what you taste is because you smell the flavors too. Please watch this Alton Brown clip to help explain – I have referenced this many a time in random conversation because I love the fun fact so much. My recreation usually involves my fingers dangling downwards above my face and saying the word flanges – so fun.

Anyhow, I digress… My whole point about this, is that I love the foods traditions that have taken root in my life and the memories they stir.  Most of these traditions take place during the holidays or winder time like cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning, my braided sausage roll for a holiday party, winter chili, and this butternut squash soup. It’s really my favorite recipe that I’ve come across and I make it at least once every winter.

There are so few ingredients but the impact is grand. The bit of cumin ads just the slightest smokiness that pairs so well with the sweet squash and cream at the end. AND as I’ve mentioned before, pureed soups are the easiest thing in the world to make – you have no excuse not to try this.

I originally found this recipe online when I lived in Germany – my host dad didn’t believe I was actually going to cook the squash when he saw it in the kitchen, he thought it was some project for the kids! This is my original copy all the way from Poppenweiler, DE, 5 years old.

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 1 Butternut squash (abt 2 lbs)
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced carrots
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

Halve squash, peel and remove seeds, cut into 1 inch chunks. Heat oil in pot, cook onions and garlic for about 5 in until beginning to brown. Add carrot, cumin, salt and pepper, cook about 1 min. Add squash and stock, bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer until squash is very tender, about 15-20 min. Puree with immersion blender or in a regular blender in batches. Add cream and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Comments
4 Responses to “My Favorite Butternut Squash Soup”
  1. Jessica says:

    This looks great. my favorite is a recipe from cooking light that calls for squash, potato and leeks. I substitute plain yogurt for the cream and it is oh so tasty. I will compare these! Butternut squash is my favorite soup to make … So easy!

  2. Billie King says:

    Sure sounds delicious! love the pictures and memories of Germany.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] My Favorite Butternut Squash Soup The Bon Appetit Diaries Wed, November 30, 2011 5:37 AM UTC The Bon Appetit Diaries Rate this story Loading … Share (function(){var […]



Leave a Reply

