Nutmeg Yogurt Scones

I had a hankering for scones this weekend. I recently cracked open my dad’s AMAZING home-made blackberry jam and I wanted something more special than toast for this delicious spread. I guess I wasn’t the only one because as I was perusing the blogs I follow today, I came across two others who made scones this weekend too!

I was a bit disappointed doing my research on Saturday to see most scones are made with whole milk/buttermilk, neither of which I had, BUT I did have yogurt! A google search later and I had 2 great inspiration recipes – strawberry yogurt scones and nutmeg-scented scones. It was my first baking my ‘own recipe’, which I will definitely call a success. I loved the spice of the nutmeg and it stood up to but was still a nice complement to the blackberry jam, and the yogurt did just the trick as the wet ingredient. They were light and flaky, which was nice, but I think next time I’ll aim for a little denser texture – ah, the possibilities!

Nutmeg Yogurt Scones

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup oat flour

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick)

1/2 cup plain whole milk yogurt

milk + brown sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all the dry ingredients and cut in the butter with a fork, pastry cutter or your fingers, until small crumbs form. Mix in the yogurt until a ball forms (I had to use my hands to get all the crumbs in there). Flatten into a 6-7″ disc and cut into quarters. Bake for 15-18 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Serve warm with butter and jam!

Comments
3 Responses to “Nutmeg Yogurt Scones”
  1. Katie says:

    This looks delicious! I just absolutely adore all of the thoughtful recipe’s that you post and can’t wait to try some!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] no surprise that I LOVE breakfast – reference here, here and here. It’s one of the easiest things to make at home, and what I like most is that you can make it […]

  2. […] made scones and shortcakes but I thought an appropriate twist to these traditional tea snacks would be making […]



Leave a Reply

