Cherry Vodka – Part II

I know you have been anxiously awaiting to hear how the Cherry Vodka turned out… I am sorry to tell you, it did NOT. Exactly two weeks after creating my first trial batch, I made a plan to try it out. I invited one of my girlfriends over with the enticing ‘”come try my home-made cherry vodka” and it was a let down for us both.

It looked great – the vodka was pink, the cherries plump with the spirit; however, each of us only needed a sip to tell that something was off. The cherry flavor was prevalent, but so was a fermented aftertaste. My poor cherries had gone bad. I can’t say I’m surprised though, because they did spend two weeks in the dark cold fridge and I think if you leave just about anything in there that long, something is bound to go wrong – yet still I held out and followed the directions in the hopes that the vodka would suppress the cherries’ desire to go bad.

Well, lesson learned – do not store for 2 weeks, perhaps just a few days to imbue a delicate flavor. I still think it’s a great idea and am excited to experiment with what is left of my handle that I just can’t seem to finish.

Leave a Reply

