Cherry Vodka – Part I

I’m not really a vodka fan. I don’t know what it is, but it’s a little too potent or something, and is definitely not my go to libation. That said, I do have a handle in my freezer, or the last remains of one. I had some friends over to my old place months ago, more than six months for sure, and purchased this bottle to make cocktails for everyone – low and behold I have still not finished it.

Inspiration: bon appetit blog – Infuse Your Booze

So I was quite excited to see an article in this month’s Bon Appetit about the BA Blog discussing infused liqueurs. Finally, a use for my vodka, and perhaps a more tasty one at that! I conveniently had cherries from my last trip to Berkeley Bowl and an empty mason jar – what luck!

It’s very easy, you can check out their blog for more details, but here’s pretty much how it goes:

fruit + booze + jar
only put in the parts you would eat: no pits, pith or stems
fill ‘er up
seal tight
So Part I is done – after sitting in my fridge for 2-3 weeks I should have cherry vodka! We’ll see though… I’ll be reporting back to let you know how it is and if it successfully changes my thoughts of this spirit.
Leave a Reply

