Little Dinner Parties, As Easy As That

Ina Garten has it together – an amazing home in the Hampton’s, the effortless ability to throw a dinner party together as easy as that, and fabulous friends. I love her.

So when I decided to have my best friend and her husband over for dinner, Ina was a natural inspiration for my main course choice. Lemon Chicken Breasts, from her newest book How Easy Is That?, won the vote and did not disappoint! After I smashed some potatoes, sauteed asparagus and baked an apple tart, my little dinner party was born.

not my finest photo, but you get the idea
The chicken baked in a dish with olive oil, garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, oregano & thyme. Mixed with the juices from the chicken you end up with a great ‘sauce’ to spoon over the finished product. The recipe calls for skin on, boneless breasts, but Safeway didn’t have boneless breasts, so I went skin on bone in – amazing. Between the bone and the skin the breasts remain moist and tender (save for a little over cooking…)
My rustic mashed potatoes were red potatoes (skins on) with some chives, sour cream and cream – I loved these potatoes! Creamy and just a little tangy, with no pressure to be perfectly smooth. I sauteed the asparagus with olive oil, salt & pepper and finished with a sprinkle of parmesan. It all came together so well, with some left overs to spare.
And what about the apple tart? I have been making this most simple dessert for over a year now and it really deserves its own post… but all of this was prepared in a small kitchen with a late start, proof that having friends over for dinner really can be as easy as that.
Leave a Reply

