does bacon say ‘i love you’?

Soooo… It’s Valentine’s Day. After a quick drink with friends after work, I came home to prepare myself a ‘special meal’. And by special I mean another dish with bacon.

Let’s set the scene: I had the Turkey BLT at the Grove on Chestnut which was AMAZING. Seriously one of the best BLT’s I’ve ever had – once you see the photo, I’m sure you’ll be able to imagine a bit of what I’m talking about. The bread was solid and soft, just perfect, thick savory slabs of bacon paired so well with juicy turkey, fresh lettuce and tomato rounded out the textures and creamy mayo topped it off.
the inspiration: The Grove’s Turkey BLT

This fabulous sandwich reminded me of a BLT Panzanella my friends told me about from Food & Wine and I knew I had to give it a go. I bought all the ingredients last week (hence the french toast and bacon Saturday) and threw it together tonight.

So easy: toasted some bread in the oven, added lettuce, tomato, bacon and a little avocado. A sprinkle of parm to finish, just lovely. The dressing was a simple vinaigrette with lemon juice, oil, shallot, touch of mayo. I let it sit for a bit for the bread to soak up the dressing, definitely the right choice.

the creation: BBLTA Salad

While I’d love to think everything I prepare is amazing, there are definitely things to be learned – so in the event you attempt your own BBLTA (bread, bacon, lettuce, tomato, avocado) Salad, which I highly recommend, take with you some of my learnings:
– use a good solid bread (sourdough or ciabatta would be great) my bread was a little too airy and flaky after being toasted
– make sure there’s enough bacon!
– experiment with different dressings, a little dijon or something creamy would have been oh so good.
Give it a go!
Comments
One Response to “does bacon say ‘i love you’?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a special someone is involved. Last year I made these for my girlfriends and two years ago I made this for dinner. This year, for the first time in quite some time, I will be having dinner with my […]



Leave a Reply

